About Us




The Medina County Office for Older Adults (MCOOA) was opened in 1974 to help the seniors of Medina County by providing nutrition programs and transportation programs that are funded through the Older Americans Act and through the Medina County Commissioners. The agency also houses a lovely senior center that provides many opportunities for activities and education for older adults. We grew in 2011 to encompass our Aging and Disability Resource Center and can now serve many needs of those 60 and over but also anyone age 18 and over who may have a disability.

MISSION STATEMENT

Medina County Office for Older Adults will offer supports to older adults and adults with a disability to live independently within their own homes and community functioning at the highest level possible.

Supports include protection from abuse and neglect, meal, transportation and financial services, social and recreational activities, advocating for senior and adult needs, and educating and empowering individuals to seek opportunities to remain self-sufficient.



The Medina County Office for Older Adults is a department of the Medina County Government and is located on the ground floor of the Human Services Building, 246 Northland Drive, Medina, Ohio. The department also has an Advisory Council made up of representatives from all over the county (see below).

Medina County Advisory Council on Aging and Disability


Our Advisory Council meets on a monthly basis and is charged with providing a community voice in the administration of county activities concerning aging and the disabled. They also assist with the determination of policies of the Medina County Office for Older Adults whose purpose it is to serve the needs of Medina County residents over age 60 and the disabled with education, social services, and defense of their rights through advocacy. The Council represents various parts of the county as a whole and the members include:

Township Trustees Association Representatives

Rick Monroe, Medina -rmonroe@yorktwp.org
Amy Wermer, Medina - ajhw57@gmail.com
Joan Weigel, Valley City - mjeweigel@zoominternet.net
Ronald Bischof, Medina - RBischof@montvilletwp.org

 

Village Mayors Association Representatives
Carol Carter, Seville - mayor@villageofseville.org
Member #2, Vacant

Brunswick City Representatives
Diane Madonna - dmado258@gmail.com
Howard Elko -  howardelko@yahoo.com

Medina City Representatives
Linda Williams, Medina - willia@zoominternet.net
Sue Boggs, Medina - sboggs@medinacountyveterans.org

Wadsworth City Representatives
Bill Meyer, Wadsworth - bmeyer@progressivequalitycare.com
Jim Dull, Wadsworth - Jim_Dull@yahoo.com

County At Large
Sarah Gardner, Medina - sally3333@zoominternet.net
Dave Wetzel, Medina - dwarriorw@aol.com
Mary Anne Rodgers, Medina - mgiar73@zoominternet.net
Kimberly Koehring, Wadsworth - ckchateau@yahoo.com
Marie Edmonds, Medina - Marie@marieedmonds.com


Western Reserve Area Agency on Aging Board Appointments
Kelly Rose Stallard, Medina Twp. - Kelly.Rosestallard@yahoo.com

Five County Advisory Council of the WRAAA
Ashley Sorgen, Medina - Ashley@marieedmonds.com
Member #2, Vacant